skip to primary navigationskip to content


Research in music at Cambridge is renowned both nationally and internationally and covers a broad range of fields. The Music Faculty's REF submission was ranked among the top three of all UK music departments in terms of the combination of quality and volume of research and included all aspects of our research – music history and analysis, popular and media music, ethnomusicology, performance studies, composition, and music and science. We also host two world-leading centres of collaborative research: the Centre for Music and Science, and the Cambridge Centre for Musical Performance Studies, stemming from the AHRC Research Centre for Musical Performance as Creative Practice. These are complemented by a research infrastructure of international significance, including the Pendlebury Library and University Library as well as important College collections. See our Research Resources for further information about some of these collections.

The impact of our research is wide-ranging. Our academics engage with a diverse range of public and professional groups during the course of their research and have advised on a number of cultural and commercial initiatives. To learn more about our most recent research activities, go to our Features page for updates on our research and its impact as well as broader commentary on music and music scholarship in the modern world.

The Faculty sponsors a large number of visiting lecturers, usually about ten to fifteen per year, most of them appearing in the Graduate Colloquium Series, which is organized by current graduate students and takes place each Wednesday during term time. Further distinguished visitors appear as the biennial Orr Lecturer (Jeremy Isaacs, Julian Rushton, M. Jacques Attali, Ian Kemp, Reinhard Strohm, Bernard Williams, Frank Kermode, Jonathan Harvey, Simon Morrison) and as the Wort Lecturer, who joins the Faculty for a fixed period to give four formal lectures and various seminars (recent Wort Lecturers include include Leo Treitler, Carolyn Abbate, Kofi Agawu, Lydia Goehr, Gary Tomlinson, and Ingrid Monson).