skip to primary navigationskip to content

Historical Musicology

historical 550 

Historical musicology in Cambridge has a long and distinguished history, with eleven of the Faculty’s full-time staff working primarily in this area. Three of them are recipients of the Dent Medal (awarded annually by the Royal Musical Association in conjunction with the International Musicological Society), and two are Fellows of the British Academy: all are internationally distinguished in their respective fields. We have particular concentrations in such fields as music before 1600, nineteenth-century music, opera studies, cultural musicology, theory and analysis, and performance studies – fields which frequently overlap with our work in ethnomusicology and in science and music. You can best gain an impression of the fields we cover by exploring the publication lists under Academic staff.

Our graduate programme, which includes Masters and doctoral programmes, is one of the largest in the UK, and features among its PhD holders many of the leading figures in national and international musicology: take a look at some of our former graduate students.


Faculty Staff

Sam Barrett

Stefano Castelvecchi

Ross Cole

Nicholas Cook

Martin Ennis

Iain Fenlon

Marina Frolova-Walker

Nicholas Marston

Susan Rankin

David Trippett

Benjamin Walton


Affiliated Lecturers

Andrew Arthur

Matthew Pritchard

David Skinner


Postdoctoral and affiliated researchers

Sean Curran

Golan Gur

Matthew Laube

Tomas McAuley

Delphine Mordey

Ceri Owen

Daniel Trocmé-Latter

Francesca Vella

Gavin Williams


Postgraduate students

Charlotte Bentley

Ian Dickson

José Izquierdo

John McKean

Charles Pardoe

Emanuel Singer

Giovanni Varelli

Vera Wolkowicz



Image Source.